Happy Times Today

99.9% Removes Internet Boredom

When Life Gives You Lemons by Jon Oliver R. Balili


I’m sure we’re all familiar with the old adage that when life gives us lemons, we ought to make lemonade. Fewer, perhaps, know of another way of dealing with the problems life throws at us. The music group Atmosphere released an album called “When Life Gives You Lemons, You Paint That Shit Gold.” God knows what that means. Those familiar with Cave Johnson from the video game Portal 2 would recall his lengthy and memorable rant on dealing with such lemons. He says:

“When life gives you lemons, don’t make lemonade – make life take the lemons back! Get mad! I don’t want your damn lemons, what am I supposed to do with these? Demand to see life’s manager. Make life rue the day it thought it could give Cave Johnson lemons. Do you know who I am? I’m the man who’s gonna burn your house down! With the lemons. I’m going to get my engineers to invent a combustible lemon that burns your house down!”

Though hilarious and unrealistic in a literal sense (especially the combustible lemon part), it does raise an interesting point for discussion. Could we just throw our lemons back at life?

May isn’t over yet and it has already proven to be a ridiculously busy month for me. I already have enough on my hands with all the assignments I have at work. Then this week brought a couple of setbacks in a project I’m handling and a couple of new tasks. It’s been so bad that for the first time since I started working, I had to lie down on the couch in the conference room and actually take a break.

Sometimes I wish I could just banish all these problems away or that they’d just magically disappear. Unfortunately (for me at least), life doesn’t work that way. In my line of work, I’m gonna be thrown one project after another and I have to deliver. As my partner in the office once said, “It’s a necessity or else welcome to the world of the unemployed jud ta ani.”

Sadly, there will be no throwing lemons back at life for me, unless some person dresses up in a shirt with the word LIFE printed on it and starts giving out lemons to people. But that’s wishful thinking. I’m just gonna go make lemonade. Hopefully, I’ll find some sugar to go with it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2013 by in Feature Writer and tagged , , , , .

Happy Times Stats

  • 141,709 Happy Readers
Unbreakable

Karbun: The Sixth, the Base, the Diamond.

ilustrisimosheenahsalise

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Battle Studies

Every Hero Was Once a Rebel

like reading on trains

a boy reading in a packed train crowd

DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

